From a reader…
Einkorn is a variety of wild wheat that has a different gluten structure than modern wheat. Some people with gluten sensitivities can tolerate it better.
Would it still be valid material for the holy eucharist?
Here is the wiki entry for Einkorn, not to be confused with Einhorn, which is a unikorn.
Einkorn is a species of wheat, either wild or domesticated, of which each spikelet has one grain only. This is a really ancient variety of wheat, at least 10000 years old. Einkorn is of the genus triticum.
The Church teaches that by divine institution – hence, it cannot be changed – that the matter for the Eucharist is to be bread from wheat – triticum – and wine from grapes.
If Einkorn is a wheat, then bread made from einkorn flour is wheat bread. Therefore it is valid matter for the Eucharist.
If you stop to think about this most of the wheat we have today are, by and large, modern strains that have been bread… no… bred. This wheat might be more like that which was in use in Christ’s own time than some of the wheat we have since developed.