FOLLOW UP HERE
From a reader…
Might the gluten-free madness that grips Western society be the work of the Father of Lies? Most people who believe themselves to be gluten-intolerant are just engaging in speculation and it might be a case of mind over matter, or wishful thinking, sometimes for secondary gain or control. They think they will become ill from wheat, and might be willing themselves to do so. What do you think? I have acquaintances who demand gluten free choices when dining out or being a guest in my home. They say they are gluten free but craftily cheat when given a choice between a dessert made with gluten and one made with rice flour or chickpea flour. Its a matter of control, I believe.
Wow. Even now I can hear the howls of indignation at the suggestion that the gluten thing isn’t real.
I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on TV. However, I do think that the incidence of sensitivity to gluten is on the rise. I suspect that there is a combination of factors, including years of eating artificial crap and various other less than healthy factors.
At the same time, there have been a few instances when I have suspected that a person here or there wanted some special attention. But that’s not worth pursuing.
The Church has made it clear that a certain type of approved low-gluten Host may be validly and licitly consecrated. (Cf. Congregation for Doctrine of the Faith, July 24, 2003, Prot. 89/78-174 98.)
“Hosts that are completely gluten-free are invalid matter for the celebration of the Eucharist. Low-gluten hosts (partially gluten-free) are valid matter, provided they contain a sufficient amount of gluten to obtain the confection of bread without the addition of foreign materials and without the use of procedures that would alter the nature of bread” (A. 1-2). HERE
I’ll leave this open for comments from those who truly know something about it.