ACTION ITEM! Coordinated prayer for Pope Francis against diabolical attack

action-item-buttonMy friend Fr. Byers wrote to ask for help with something. HERE

He suggests that people all over the world pray at the say time each day (early morning Rome time) to ask God to protect Pope Francis from diabolical assault.

¡Hagan lío!

Thus, Fr. Byers…

An Hour for Pope Francis – Help!

4:00–5:00 AM daily the Pope’s time (following daylight savings time in the country where he happens to be around the world) is being dedicated to praying special prayers for the Holy Father. May he begin each day dedicated to Jesus and free from diabolical assault. Join in at that time if you can for as long as you can. Your prayers are helpful anytime. When it’s 4:00 AM in Rome, it is:

2:00 AM Sierra Leone
3:00 AM London / Bangui
5:00 AM Jerusalem / Nairobi
7:00 AM Dushanbe
7:30 AM Mumbai
9:00 AM Bangkok
10:00 AM Shanghai
11:00 AM Seoul / Ulaanbaatar / Yakutsk
12:00 Noon Sydney
2:00 PM Christchurch
4:00 PM Honolulu
5:00 PM Rikitea
6:00 PM Adamstown
7:00 PM Los Angeles / Destruction Bay
8:00 PM Denver / Sinaloa / Hanga Roa
9:00 PM Chicago / Cité Soleil
10:00 PM New York / Havana
11:00 PM Buenos Aires / Rio de Janeiro
Suggestion (1):

V: Oremus pro Pontifice nostro Francisco.

R: Dominus conservet eum, et vivificet eum, et beatum faciat eum in terra, et non tradat eum in animam inimicorum eius.

Oremus: Deus, omnium fidelium pastor et rector, famulum tuum Franciscum, quem pastorem Ecclesiae tuae praeesse voluisti, propitius respice: da ei, quaesumus, verbo et exemplo, quibus praeest, proficere: ut ad vitam, una cum grege sibi credito, perveniat sempiternam. Per Christum, Dominum nostrum. Amen.

V: Let us pray for our Pontiff Francis.

R: May the Lord preserve him, and give him life, and make him blessed upon the earth, and deliver him not up to the will of his enemies.

Let us pray: O God, Shepherd and Ruler of all Thy faithful, look mercifully upon Thy servant Francis, whom Thou hast chosen as shepherd to preside over Thy Church: grant him, we beseech Thee, that, by word and example, he may edify those over whom he hath charge, so that together with the flock committed to him, he may attain everlasting life. Through Christ, our Lord. Amen.

[…]

That’s the suggestion that I will use.  It’s a prayer I should memorize anyway.  He has other suggestions and you can see them there.

NB: In the older, traditional form of Holy Mass priests could/were to add orations after those assigned in the Mass formulary for the day.  One of them was/could be for the Roman Pontiff.   Sometimes when I read Mass privately, I add orations (whether the rubrics indicate or not… I just do) for specific purposes or people.

page_orations

Think about this for a while.  Once upon a time, thousands of priests all over the world, at every hour of the day, were praying for the Pope at Mass with great frequency – and not merely in the Roman Canon, but specific with specific orations.  And then we stopped doing that.   Once upon a time, after almost every Mass everywhere in the world people knelt after Mass and prayed the Leonine Prayers, asking the help of Mary and St. Michael, asking for the conversion of sinners, protection of the Church, mercy.  And then we stopped doing that.

Did stopping help?

So, friends, be prayer warriors and help the Pope, who really needs help.

About Fr. John Zuhlsdorf

Fr. Z is the guy who runs this blog. o{]:¬)
This entry was posted in ¡Hagan lío!, "How To..." - Practical Notes, ACTION ITEM!, Be The Maquis, Our Catholic Identity, Pope Francis, Si vis pacem para bellum!, Urgent Prayer Requests and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to ACTION ITEM! Coordinated prayer for Pope Francis against diabolical attack

  1. rodin says:

    Yes, indeed, every day! Don’t know about doing it on Rome time though.

  2. APX says:

    FWIW: For those who are more musically inclined, you can also sing the Oremus Pro Pontifice in Gregorian Chant, which, I have a feeling will not sit well with the diabolical (as it has taken me almost 15 minutes to post this without having repeated issues of the page reloading and having to start over again).

    http://www.spesnostra.fr/images/vepres_oremus_pro_Pontifice_nostro.gif

  3. iamlucky13 says:

    I’m not very good at making habits out of practices like this, but I will try. Saying the Leonine prayers after Mass will be easier for me to remember and commit to.

    The pastor at one of the parishes we sometimes attend has started leading the the basic parts of the Leonine prayers (3 Hail Marys, Salve Regina, St. Michael prayer) at the end of Mass, for the intention of peace in the world.

    Are these most properly done after the final blessing? I think he’s been doing them before the blessing.

    I see also that Vatican II (in Inter oecumenici) declared the Leonine prayers “suppressed.” What does that really mean? I’m sure that doesn’t mean Catholics are forbidden to ever pray them, and I can’t imagine that it is even illicit for a priest to lead them as a private devotion, but I take it they should in some way be separated from the Liturgy itself?

    I was a bit surprised and encouraged to see a parish and pastor that, pardon my presumption, seem generally pretty lukewarm (hence why we only sometimes attend it, even though it is our closest parish) start this devotion.

    By the way, I’d heard the term “Leonine prayers” mentioned before, but they ended before my time and I didn’t know the form. You just prompted me to look them up. Learning about historical and very worthwhile traditions such as these are a no small part of the reason I enjoy your blog. Thank you, Father!

  4. Felipe says:

    (7:00pm Destruction Bay, that’s s first lol)

  5. Semper Gumby says:

    Fr. Byers and Fr. Z: this is a good idea.

  6. Johanna says:

    I wish I had spent more time praying for Pope Benedict.

  7. majuscule says:

    Thanks APX for the Gregorian chant link. Because I’m not good at reading notes you inspired me to search on YouTube where one finds videos of the chant being sung.

    Just search on “oremus pro pontifice nostro” and you’ll find several (or maybe more).

  8. Rosary Rose says:

    We need this! I’ll set a reminder on my phone and ask my Guardian Angel to help me remember and to remove obstacles that will keep me from praying. May I suggest that if an hour seems impossible, at least say a prayer – even a Hail Mary – for the Holy Father. Every little bit helps. We are the Church, we are all called to be soldiers, every effort is important.

    God bless our wonderful priests!

  9. andromedaregina says:

    7pm 5 hours North of Destruction Bay :)

  10. Papabile says:

    Inter oecumenuci was approved in forma specifica by Paul VI. But that was the first instruction, only applying to the 1965 rite.

  11. Pingback: A priest’s plea: “Please, Holy Father: Enough” | Fr. Z's Blog

  12. Pingback: Wider Area Calls For Prayers For Pope Francis I – As He Continues To Drive The Church Into Heterodoxy And Dissolution | Traditional Catholics Emerge