You know the cliché that it ain’t over ’till it’s over, don’t you.
Here is a perfect example.
A perfect game was wrecked yesterday, but not by a player.
A 22-year vet umpire made an astonishingly bad call on the 27th batter to blow a pitcher’s perfect game.
The Motor City Kitties’ pitcher Armando Galarraga had been perfect against the Indians of Cleveland to the 9th inning. With two outs the Indian’s shortstop Jason Donald grounded to first. Easy peasy.
The perfecto changed to a 1-hit shutout in an instant when Umpire Jim Joyce simply blew the call. He called Donald safe at first though the replays clearly show that Galarraga, who had dashed over to cover first, had the ball in his glove and his foot planted on the base before the runner reached.
It was scored a hit, since you cannot charge an umpire with an error.
Here is video.
The umpire, who will forever be remembered for this call, later went to the locker room to apologize to Galarraga.
Now people will again start talking about replay reviews in baseball.
What do you think?
Please vote and give your reasons in the combox.